Book reviews

Book review : The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis.

Title- The Raven and the Dove
Author- Kaitlyn Davis
Publisher- Kaitlyn Davis Mosca
Format- E-book (NetGalley)
Pages- 506
Genre- Fiction
Publication date- 9 March 2020
Ratings- 5/5

Book blurb:

Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo!

A princess longing to be free…
On the dawn of her courtship trials, Princess Lyana Aethionus knows she should be focused on winning her perfect mate, yet her thoughts wander to the open sky at the edge of her floating kingdom. One final adventure calls. Upon fleeing the palace, the last thing she expects to find is a raven prince locked in a death match with a dragon.

A bastard aching to belong…
Reviled son of a dead king, Rafe would do anything for his beloved half-brother, Prince Lysander Taetanus, including posing as him in the upcoming courtship trials. When a dragon interrupts their secret exchange, he orders his studious sibling to run. After suffering a fatal blow, Rafe is saved by a beautiful dove who possesses forbidden magic, just like him.

Fate brought them together, now destiny will tear them apart…
Unknown to the world above, on the foggy sea ten thousand feet below, a young king fights a forgotten war. He believes Lyana is the queen prophesied to save the world, and with the help of his favored spy, hidden deep in the highest ranks of the dove royal house, he will stop at nothing to have her.

Three shocking betrayals. Two star-crossed lovers. One unforgettable journey. If you like fierce heroines, brooding heroes, forbidden romance, and action-packed magical adventures with twists you’ll never see coming, don’t miss The Raven and the Dove!

My review:

Raven and Dove was a completely unexpected read for me, I saw the books cover in of one of the coming anticipated book of 2020 and I was totally enthralled by the cover which is a typically but beautifully illustrated YA fantasy novel and when FFBC invited for the book tour it was obvious to count myself in.

The world will fracture, splinter in two,

One made of grey, the other blue.

Beasts will emerge, filled with fury and scorn.

Fighting to recover what from their claws we have torn.

So this book needs to get more and more attention, even though I can’t categorize it into a mind-boggling book but yes, the superfluous hype that some of the YA is getting these days is making some of the titles less reachable to the reader.

This title is one such book. I truly want more and more people who love YA to read it. It’s totally worth it.

After a very long time I gave a 5 outta 5 stars to YA because this book accomplished whatever I find in a YA fantasy.

She was more than a princess,

She was a force.

This book has a love triangle, angels, magical realms and everything you can expect from good fantasy. Coming to the characters I found Lyana’s character to be pretty annoying at first but I loved her free spirit and how she was ready to sacrifice things when needed. Xander is the most adorable character. We need more Xander guys. Other supporting characters like Cassie made a strong point in the book in every aspect.

So, yeah I got the book in Net Galley but I’m pretty sure that I’ll add the hardcover in my collection super soon and recommend you guys to pick it up too.

Thanks to @theffbc for the #gifted copy✨

Link to buy the book.

Follow me on:

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s